Writing Challenge

Still trying to beat the clock

This is a question we’ve all been asked. My answer has always been the same. The superpower I would most want to have is, without a question, the ability to control time. No, not time travel, as tempting as that is. I’m too scared to mess with that. More specifically– I want the ability to freeze time, with the understanding that I wouldn’t continue to age. So I could spend a year’s timeframe in a frozen world, for instance, and I wouldn’t have aged a year. I can’t imagine freezing the world for that long, though. Also, any living thing that I make contact with as I freeze time would remain unfrozen along with me.

When I was in grade school, I saw dozens of benefits that came with this power. I could have never studied for tests and simply copied the answer key in class. Or I could have made a run to the dorm to grab a finished assignment that I left in my bedroom, which happened a frustrating amount of times. I could have pulled down the pants of the most arrogant guy in the school during lunchtime to shut him up. I could have paused a lively debate to think of the absolute best comeback. I could have made Kent and my weekend visits during our long-distance relationship last for weeks. Heck, I could’ve “borrowed” a couple grand from the bank every now and then. More importantly, I could’ve slept in every single day and not have been late for school once.

As I got older, the ability to freeze time remained the most attractive superpower, but my reasoning became fewer and less specific. During college, I found myself wishing I had more time to do the things I needed or wanted to do, which would inevitably be put on a hold. Why? I’ll tell you why. Because our bodies require sleep. And we require it every single day. How annoying is that?

I did think about having my superpower simply be to not need to sleep, but as demanding as it is, I do love to sleep. Falling asleep is one of my favorite feelings ever. I love it when I feel so damn tired and yawn so hard that I get goosebumps all over and I’m able to just drift off to sleep in a heavy blanket, without a care in the world. I can think of only three better feelings than that. And let’s face it, I’d have a lot more fun with the ability to freeze time.

So back to freezing time, it occurred to me that if I could have an unlimited amount of time on my hands, I could accomplish so many creative projects that end up taking a backseat to more urgent work. I could read all the books that I want to read and watch all the movies that I want to watch. I could even write a book! I could take vacations with Kent anytime. We’d stroll through sleepy cities and quiet palaces, like Leo DiCaprio and Marion Cotillard did in Inception. I want to someday be able to meditate for an hour, but that’s like… an hour of my day. With the ability to freeze time, it wouldn’t even make a dent in the 24 hours I get daily.

Being able to freeze time means being able to have more time and to me, that’s the grandest gift I could ever dream for. What about you? What superpower do you want?

Writing challenge prompt 8/30: What superpower would you want to have and why? 

Standard

Leave a Reply

