Life

Parting is such a sweet sorrow.

Today I part from the human I love to return to the city I love. I’ve left the arms of this human countless times, and it never gets easier. In the same moment I step away from him I feel the pang of his absence. Already I am glancing at the calendar for how much time will need to have passed before my things are packed and I return to him… and all will be right in the world once again.

Yet, I feel a mournful sense of loss when I anticipate leaving my city. It was never meant to last, this affair with the wonderfully weird little spot on Earth called Berkeley, but during my time here, I made this place all mine. That lovely afternoon I stumbled into the private gardens around my neighborhood was for me. The gems with hidden messages that strangers left on the streets were for me. The spurs of incredible joys and periods of heart-wrenching anguish I experienced through the year were mine.

Those moments belong to me, simply because I choose for them to be. Life doesn’t have a meaning. Rather, you interpret life in your own way. I see signs everywhere, but I don’t believe that a higher being placed them there to tell me something. They exist, whether or not I happen to walk by. They are still meant for me. They are meant for you, too.

Parting from the city I love mourns me, because I shall be leaving a piece of me there. Parting from the city I love warms me, because I shall be bringing a piece of it with me everywhere.

And, returning to the human I love is the sweet to the bitter of leaving him, every time.

Parting is such a sweet sorrow.

Standard

One thought on “Parting is such a sweet sorrow.

Leave a Reply

